Norma K Hemming Award 2012


The acceptance speech for the Norma K Hemming Award in 2012 was written by Karen Brooks, friend and literary guardian to Sara Douglass and given on her behalf by writer and dear friend Jason Nahrung.

It is difficult to accept an award on behalf of a beloved friend who has died, suffice to say, you try to imagine how they would feel and what they would say and that’s what I will try and do now.

Firstly, however, I want to thank Jason Nahrung, my dear friend and fellow writer for being so kind as to accept this award on my behalf for Sara.

Secondly, I know Sara would want me to extend warm congratulations to the joint winner, Anita Bell – it’s lovely to share this recognition with you, Anita.

As for winning the Norma K Hemming Award for Devil’s Diadem, Sara’s last novel, it’s a great tribute and Sara would have been humbled by it but also, I think, grateful that the judges and this community understood what she did with the tale and, in particular, the character of Maeb.

The citation says that Maeb, the main protagonist, was “…an ordinary woman (who) lives extraordinarily, questioning and evolving her place in history, in patriarchy, and in an unfurling horror.”

This could have been written about Sara. Those of you who knew her would agree with me that she was simultaneously an ordinary and extraordinary woman. She was a trailblazer for us speculative fiction writers, a great but quiet supporter of the national and international community of writers, readers and fans, and someone who, while writing this book, suffered the unfurling horror of cancer.

What many of you won’t know is the pain, blood, sweat, and tears that Sara poured into this novel – something her original dedication noted. I was privileged to share this dreadful yet wonderful time with Sara. She loved this book with a passion – it was her escape, her salve. Towards the end of writing and throughout the editing, when she knew unequivocally she was dying, Sara allowed her emotions, her fear, her dread, her confusion and grief to transfer into the story – into Maeb.

Yet, for all that, it’s not a bleak novel; on the contrary, it’s beautiful, otherworldly and haunting – like Sara really. Read Devil’s Diadem, and you will find Sara Warneke and Sara Douglass on every page, in every line and every word.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you for the honour you have bestowed upon her, thank you for remembering her. As she walks the falloway paths, I hope we’ll all continue to do so.

Karen Brooks

The Norma K. Hemming Award marks excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability. More information can be found by following this link. 

Australian Shadows Award

dreaming-again-coverThe Australian Shadows Award is an annual literary award established by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) in 2005 to honour the best published work of horror fiction written or edited by an Australian. Works are judged on their overall effect within the horror genre based on the author’s skill, delivery, and the work’s lasting resonance.

In 2008 Sara Douglass was a finalist in the Australian Shadow Awards, with This Way To The Exit, a short story included in a collection called Dreaming Again, edited by Jack Dann and published by HarperVoyager in 2008.

This Way To The Exit is also included in The Hall of Lost Footsteps, a collection of short stories written by Sara Douglass over the course of her writing career, published by Ticonderoga posthumously in 2011.



The Reviewers Choice Best Book Awards

RT Book Reviews are a US based website that not only reviews books, but publish a magazine, run a writers community and run conventions as well as having their Reviewers Choice Awards. In their own words:

The Reviewers’ Choice Awards honor the best books of the year and the winners and nominees are selected by our staff of over 50 reviewers representing the readers’ voice in the women’s fiction industry.

Sara Douglass was nominated three times for the Reader Choice Awards by RT Book Reviews in her category. The nominations were:


The Aurealis Awards

The Aurealis Awards were established in 1995 by Chimaera Publications, the publishers of Aurealis magazine, to recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. Sara Douglass was a finalist eight times and won three times over the course of her career (including having two books win first place in 1996).

Aurealis Awards: Fantasy division