Don’t They Know Who I Am: The Twisted Citadel

This is how you read The Twisted Citadel.

Go to the library.

Get out the Axis Trilogy, the Wayfarer Redemption trilogy, and The Serpent Bride.

Read them in that order.

Then, and only then, can you pick up The Twisted Citadel.

Serious. Don’t think for a second that Ms Douglass is going to humour you with the amount of back story necessary to bring you up to date – not going to happen. She’s not going to baby you. This is the second book in a trilogy which is the third trilogy to take place sequentially, so it’s essentially the eighth book in a series. No one is stupid enough to pick up the eighth book in a series and attempt to read it. Especially not fantasy. You don’t even have your own real world knowledge to help you along. What are you going to do when some guy called Axis rides out with the Icarii and a bunch of Lealfast in search of Skraelings? You going to curl up and cry? No. You’re going to man up and go read yourself into a whole new world of awesome and disembowelment. Sara Douglass loves a good disembowelment.

It’s the people who will suck you in. But it’s totally, totally important that you read the other books to get the most out of it. It really is. It multiplies the experience immeasurably.

So – 3.5 stars out of five for literary merit, and 4 stars out of five for guilty pleasure. I love me a massive thick fantasy novel, preferably where some guys can fly. Sigh.

©2009 Suzanne / Don’t They Know Who I Am. To read the full review on the Don’t They Know Who I Am blog please click on this link.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *