the twisted citadel

Don’t They Know Who I Am: The Twisted Citadel

This is how you read The Twisted Citadel.

Go to the library.

Get out the Axis Trilogy, the Wayfarer Redemption trilogy, and The Serpent Bride.

Read them in that order.

Then, and only then, can you pick up The Twisted Citadel.

Serious. Don’t think for a second that Ms Douglass is going to humour you with the amount of back story necessary to bring you up to date – not going to happen. She’s not going to baby you. This is the second book in a trilogy which is the third trilogy to take place sequentially, so it’s essentially the eighth book in a series. No one is stupid enough to pick up the eighth book in a series and attempt to read it. Especially not fantasy. You don’t even have your own real world knowledge to help you along. What are you going to do when some guy called Axis rides out with the Icarii and a bunch of Lealfast in search of Skraelings? You going to curl up and cry? No. You’re going to man up and go read yourself into a whole new world of awesome and disembowelment. Sara Douglass loves a good disembowelment.

It’s the people who will suck you in. But it’s totally, totally important that you read the other books to get the most out of it. It really is. It multiplies the experience immeasurably.

So – 3.5 stars out of five for literary merit, and 4 stars out of five for guilty pleasure. I love me a massive thick fantasy novel, preferably where some guys can fly. Sigh.

©2009 Suzanne / Don’t They Know Who I Am. To read the full review on the Don’t They Know Who I Am blog please click on this link.


Aussie Reviews: The Twisted Citadel


The Twisted Citadel is the second epic instalment in the DarkGlass Mountain trilogy and brings together the cast of its predecessor The Serpent Bride, though not all in the same alliances, as well as new characters, to continue the story of Elcho Falling and of Maxel (Maximilian) and Ishbel.

This is fantasy as it should be – with a well-defined world, an awesome cast of people and races, and twists and turn aplenty. Readers will be left wanting more – and eagerly waiting the third and final chapter of the story.


©2008 Sally Murphy /Aussie Reviews. To read the full review on the  Aussie Reviews website please click on this link.

Once Upon A Bookshelf: The Twisted Citadel

the-twisted-citadel-us-editionIn the second book in the Darkglass Mountain series, Sara Douglass does not disappoint. It was as exciting and as consuming as all of her other books. It was as I had expected, though – I have had this book sitting on my bookshelf for months, and had purposely left off reading it until I had a whole weekend free where I knew I wouldn’t be interrupted. The Twisted Citadel takes up right after where The Serpent Bride finishes. I don’t even know where to begin to start talking about this book – it’s like a soap opera and there is just so much going on that it’s hard to talk about the plot while trying to keep this post making sense. So, I think I will avoid the plot. Needless to say, you need to read The Serpent Bride before this (and it would probably help to read The Axis Trilogy, The Wayfarer Redemption, Threshold and Beyond the Hanging Wall as well).

Douglass’ writing style drew me in right from the beginning, again, and kept me wanting to see what would happen next. Am really wanting to go back and reread some of her other books now, but there are just so many unread books that are calling to me next. I’m definitely looking forward to getting my hands on the next book in the series, but maybe I’ll have to make my way through The Wayfarer Redemption again within the next year.

©2008 Courtney Wilson / Once Upon A Bookshelf. To read the full review on the Once Upon A Bookshelf website please click on this link.